Boone County Kentucky – Driver’s Permit

BOONE_KY_KYpermitKENTUCKY LAW: You must take the permit test in the county you reside.

TESTING LOCATION

Location: Justice Center – 6025 Rogers Lane, Burlington

Testing Days: Monday & Tuesday

Written Operator and Motorcycle Tests:
Monday & Tuesday –  12:30 PM – 4:00 PM
Written CDL and Foreign Language Tests:
Monday & Tuesday 12:30 PM – 2:00 PM

Testing Days: Wednesday – Friday

Written Operator and Motorcycle Tests:
Wednesday – Friday –  8:30 AM – 11:30 PM
Written CDL and Foreign Language Tests:
Monday-Thursday 8:30 AM – 10:00 AM

Road Tests: by appointment only: 859-448-2920
Motorcycle Tests:
Monday-Friday: 8:00am , by appointment, call: 844-253-5680
Phone Numbers:
859-448-2920 or 859-448-2904


Operator Permit / Graduated License

STEERING_BULLETStep One: Operator Permit

You must be at least 16 years old to apply for a driver’s permit. You are required to take a vision test and written test.

You must provide a certified or original birth certificate, Social Security card and proof of address. If you are under 18, a parent or guardian also must sign the application taking financial responsibility. A legal guardian must provide a certified copy of guardianship papers. Pursuant to the No Pass/No Drive Law (KRS 159.051), you must also provide a School Compliance Verification Form issued by your school.

Permit drivers under 18 may not drive between the hours of midnight and 6 a.m. unless the driver can demonstrate a good cause for driving. The driver must be accompanied by a licensed driver age 21 or older in the front seat of the vehicle.

STEERING_BULLETStep Two: Intermediate License

After holding a permit for 180 days, the driver may apply for an intermediate license and take the road test. To schedule a road test, contact the Kentucky State Police at (844) 233-9944. Intermediate drivers under the age of 18 may not drive between the hours of midnight and 6 a.m. unless the driver can demonstrate a good cause for driving. A parent or guardian must certify that the driver has completed 60 hours of practice with 10 hours occurring at night. A practice driving log and verification form are required. Passenger restrictions are limited to one unrelated person under 20 years of age.

STEERING_BULLETStep Three: Unrestricted License

Intermediate license holders who have held an intermediate license for 180 days and completed the four-hour graduate license program may apply for a full unrestricted license.